The Old Stone Schoolhouse was the first one-room district school in Fairhaven. It was built in 1828 and used as a school until 1896. In 1843 Manjiro Nakahama, the first Japanese person to live in America, attended classes here. It is a stop on the Manjiro Trail. The Fairhaven Office of Tourism opens the restored schoolhouse to the public on Saturday afternoons in June, July and August. Hours are 12:30 to 4:30 p.m.
In 1964, the citizens of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, including over 6000 school children, banded together to save the battleship, USS Massachusetts, from being scrapped, and bring her to the waterfront of historic Fall River on June 12, 1965. More than 500,000 people lined the shores of Narragansett Bay and the Taunton River that day to welcome their ship to the South Coast with cheers of jubilation and well wishes.
About A unique Marine Science Discovery Center, located in the heart of downtown New Bedford. The Ocean Explorium is a nonprofit organization dedicated to ocean science education. The Ocean Explorium's education programs, outreach initiatives, and public exhibits promote a broader and deeper understanding of the ocean's influence on humans and our impact on the ocean and its resources. Mission It is the mission of the Ocean Explorium to establish New Bedford as a center for ocean science public education, with an emphasis on environmental stewardship and science literacy. Public Hours: Thursday-Sunday 10:00-4:00 General Admission: $8.50 adults, $6.50 children, $6.50 students w/ id, $7.00 seniors. Free for members and children under 3 years of age.
The Seamen's Bethel " In this same New Bedford there stands a whaleman's chapel, and few are the moody fishermen, shortly bound for the Indian Ocean or Pacific, who fail to make a Sunday visit to the spot" -HermanMelille, Moby Dick, 1852 Built in 1832 and once housing a school, seamen's register (which helped to connect seafarers with those staying ashore), library and reading room, the non-denominational Seamen's Bethel still serves the seafaring community of New Bedford while also providing a historical venue for joyous occasions such as weddings and baptisms as well as a somber setting for funeral and memorial services. The Seamen's Bethel is owned and managed by the New Bedford Port Society, established in 1830 to "promote the interest of Seamen" and is supported primarily by the Society's membership and the general public. The Seamen's Bethel is open seven days a week, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., mid May through the end of October.
TEAM Fitness Franklin is a 16,000 SF upscale wellness facility located in Franklin, MA. For years our TEAM has set the standard for creating inspiring programming that has resulted in the achievement of many personal goals. Our dynamic Group Exercise class schedule, variety of equipment, and comfortable locker rooms- featuring hotel quality amenities- all create an exceptional member experience. Locally Owned and Operated, our state-of-the-art facility features: • Towel Service • Steam Rooms • Smoothie/ Juice Bar • Spa-like Locker rooms • Free Group Exercise • Nutritional Seminars • Kids Klubhouse ★ teamfitnessfranklin.com/club-info
From the shores of the ancient Mediterranean to the studios of present day artists, glass has served and adorned for thousands of years. Come experience the beauty and learn the history behind this amazing, versatile material! The museum's growing collection includes art glass made in New Bedford by the famous Mt. Washington and Pairpoint factories, glass from the Midwest and other regions of the country, English and Continental glass, ancient glass, historical glass, Tiffany and Steuben, paperweights, studio glass and much more.
Found in the heart of Attleboro, Capron Park Zoo is one of the city's premiere recreation destinations. Visitors can immerse themselves in the warmth and wonder of a tropical rainforest, be awed by the roar of our lion pride, or simply enjoy the wonders of animals from all over the globe. With something to amaze and inspire the whole family, Capron Park Zoo is a fun-filled place for the young and young-at-heart.
Seekonk Speedway, The Action Track of the East has regular racing on Fridays and Saturdays from May thru September. Come out for a good time with the family and watch the pro stocks, late models, street stocks, sport trucks, seekonk youth racing association, sport fours, pure stocks and legend cars. Five times a year we have exciting Thrill Shows that offer spectator drags, car and truck enduro races, powder puff, 50 lap enduros and much more. Specific shows have fireworks and monster trucks. To find out more information please visit our website www.seekonkspeedway.com.
Our farm is the home of the fourth generation of a family of winegrowers. In 1982 we set ourselves up on the sunny South Coast of Massachusetts. Why? Because we knew, based upon a study of the climate and soils, that this is a wonderful location for growing the kind of wine we love: gloriously aromatic, deliciously crisp wine. And it just so happens that we were right. Our wines display all the world-class characteristics for which we sought. Our soils are dark, rich New England loam on well drained gravel. Our climate is cool but moderate by the warm waters of the gulf stream (which bathes our shoreline all summer and fall). Our rainfall, perfectly accommodating for farming grapes. We welcome you to visit us and enjoy a wonderful day in New England's wine country. Open Mon - Sat from 11am to 5pm year round (except some major holidays).
Travessia is a micro-winery in downtown New Bedford, Massachusetts. We focus on making wine in small lots with primarily Massachusetts-grown grapes, such as Chardonnay, Pinot Grigio, Vidal Blanc, and Pinot Noir. Travessia wines are an authentic reflection of our local soils and micro-climate. We love to experiment and push the boundaries but our wines are also made with simplicity. Visit our winery in downtown New Bedford where you can taste and purchase our wines.HOURS: Travessia is open for tasting and sales Wednesday through Saturday from Noon to 6P.M. and Sunday from Noon to 5P.M. Please note for a tasting of our wines, you must arrive no later than 30 minutes before closing time. Please contact us for seasonal hours. Also available by appointment. Groups of 10 or more please call at least 24 hours ahead... Tel.774-929-6534