Portuguese Grammy's comes to New Bedford!

The International Portuguese music awards started back in 2013, and aim to recognize the talent of Portuguese-born musical artists scattered around the world!


The International Portuguese Music Awards are coming to New Bedford Massachusetts on Saturday April 21, 2018. This year it will be held at the Zeiterion Performing Arts Center in New Bedford! The awards show, which will include a red carpet photo op will start at 7 pm. Tickets are on sale now and can be bought for: $39, $69, $85, $160*, & $190* 

*$160 & $190 tickets include a VIP package. Limited quantity are available. 

VIP Packages includes:

  • One (1) Premium Reserved ticket
  • Official VIP laminate
  • Pre-show access to VIP lounge, including private bar and one (1) complimentary beverage
  • Early entrance into theater
  • One (1) ticket for entry to IPMA After-Party at Cotali Mar Restaurante, 1178 Acushnet Ave, New Bedford, MA

For more information on how to purchase your tickets please visit https://zeiterion.org/

Musical performances by:

  • From the United States, David DeMelo: a well-known Luso-American singer with four albums to his credit and performances spanning Portuguese communities in several countries
  • From Portugal, Carlão: former frontman of Portuguese hip-hop pioneers Da Weasel
  • From Portugal, Tiago Ribeiro: a semi-finalist of Portugal’s 2011 edition of Got Talent
  • From the United States, Manhattan Camerata: a chamber ensemble started in 2009 and known for blending together world and classical music elements
  • From Portugal, Miguel Angelo: a singer, songwriter, and television host who spent 25 years as lead singer of the legendary pop-rock band Delfins that in 90’s released one of the bestselling Portuguese albums of all time

And... The Nominees are: 

Bands and Artists are competing in the following categories: Music video of the year, Instrumental, World music, Traditional, Fado, Dance, Rap/Hip-Hop, Rock, Pop, Música Popular, & Song of the Year! Portugal-based singer Kássio earned the second-most number of nominations, with three, including Best Popular Music, Best Pop Song and Best Song for Dancing.


Music Video of the Year

“O Marinheiro” by Nathalie; Directed by Austin Hein Productions (USA)

“Fly Higher” by The Code; Directed by Line Up Productions (Portugal)

“Games” by Nikita; Directed by Jony Roy, Cezar White (Canada)

“Cuidei Que Tinha Morrido” by Tony Gouveia; Directed by Tom Sokalski (Canada)


“Corre Corre Corridinho” by Ricardo J. Martins (Portugal)

“My Love (acoustic version)” by Mike Kerr (USA)

“Pulsar” by Fernando Marques Ensemble (Portugal)

“The Stars and Stripes Forever March” by Our Lady of Light Band (USA)

World Music

“Bo Vice” by Grace Evora (USA)

“Divôrce Um’ Ca Ta Sená” by Cremilda Medina (Cape Verde)

“Abrasu” by Zérui (USA)

“A Bossa e o Fado” by Fátima Fonseca (Brazil)


“Fado Mestiço - Amanhã” by Suzi Silva (Canada)

“Principe Encantado” by Joey Medeiros (USA)

“Fado Passado” by Fernando Marques Ensemble (Portugal)

“Folclore” by Paulo Filipe (Canada)


“Ai Fado” by Clara Santos (Canada)

“Aqui Existo” by Sandra Correia (Portugal)

“Povo, Raça, Raíz” by Elizabete (Canada)

“Fado Meu” by Sonia Bettencourt (USA)


“Together” by Melo Musik (USA)

“Elemental (ft. Lyon Hart)” by Sir Matty V (USA)

“Fight For You (ft. Jay Perez)” by CUETWO (Canada)

“Balança, Balança” by Kássio (Portugal)


“Espírito de Leão (ft. Lioness)” by Jayjezz (Luxembourg)

“Save Me” by Sam Sun (Nigeria)

“Flow Motion” by Nutso (USA)

“Rock Me” by Karl Amaral (a.k.a. The Craft) (USA)


“Close My Eyes” by Social Hysteria (Canada)

″ Get a Grip” by OWAN (Portugal)

“In Suffering” by Let Us Prey (USA)

“Fly Higher” by The Code (Portugal)


“Solid Ground” by Rebecca Correia (USA)

″É o Amor” by The Code (Portugal)

“Circunstância” by Grace Evora (USA)

“Voltar no Tempo” by Kássio (Portugal)

Música Popular

“Se Eu Pudesse Te Beijar” by Kássio (Portugal)

“Todo O Mundo É Convidado” by Joey Medeiros (USA)

“Miscelânea Popular” by Sarah Pacheco (USA)

“Haja Saúde” by Zé Duarte (USA)

New Talent

Axandra (USA)

Justine Martins (USA)

Song of the Year

“Fado Mestiço” by Suzi Silva (Canada), written by Suzi Silva, Sergiu Popa

“Fly Higher” by The Code (Portugal), written by Marisa Oliveira, Félix Medeiros

“Close My Eyes” by Social Hysteria (Canada), written by George Lopes, Steve Molella

“Com Lágrimas” by Tony Gouveia (Canada), written by José Mario Coelho, Hernani Raposo

For more information on your visit to New Bedford and where to stay go to http://visitsemass.com/greater-new-bedford